凹凸棒石在钻探中的应用

钻探技术

凝胶质量的凹凸棒在 "钻探 "中的应用包括石油和天然气井的钻探、地基和基座建设的钻探,以及用于环境控制的沟渠。在钻探石油和天然气的深井时,孔中不断地充满流体泥浆。泥浆悬浮着切削物,将它们推到表面,在那里,当泥浆通过除砂器或筛子再循环时,它们被清除。泥浆可以冷却和润滑钻头,还可以形成滤饼,帮助减少液体流失。

与膨润土和其他膨胀矿物增稠剂不同,AMI的Florigel® HY凝胶质量的凹凸棒石产品的流变特性不受钻井环境中高离子浓度的影响。这使得许多客户简单地称其为"盐凝胶"。与其他矿物增稠剂相比,一个明显的优势是,凹凸棒土的特殊性能使用在不仅仅是淡水,钻井者还可以使用当地环境中的咸水或盐水,饱和的盐水,甚至被石膏或水泥污染的水......在任何pH值下。凹凸棒土的另一个独特之处在于,它不受过度剪切的影响。其他流变改性剂在长期或反复剪切下会褪色,但Florigel HY的性能将保持不变。

一些压裂液也有悬浮和触变增稠的要求。含有硼矿物的压裂液在分散和悬浮方面带来了困难的挑战。我们的Acti-Gel®208流变改性剂和稳定剂能够非常有效地在整个应用过程中保持硼的分散和悬浮。此外,Acti-Gel®208添加剂的低剂量和极低的砂砾含量使其对混合和泵送设备的磨损远小于其他矿物产品。

FLORIGEL®HY牛黄石产品符合API规格13A/ISO 13500。

钻井水泥

Acti-Gel®208添加剂在无数的水泥应用中得到了很好的证明,它可以改善泵送性和可操作性,同时提高密度、氯离子抗渗性和固化水泥复合材料的强度。 在钻井水泥中,如果需要长距离泵送而不产生偏析,并在钻孔中形成更强、更有抵抗力的屏障,这些改进也同样具有价值。

使用粘土泥浆法进行基础钻探和挖沟

在建造桥梁的钢筋混凝土基础、各种塔楼应用和截断墙时,经常需要进行钻探或挖沟。泥浆法经常被用于地下水位较高的沙质土壤。当孔或沟渠被打开时,它一直被粘土泥浆填满。其作用是通过在空洞中提供比周围地下水更稳定、更均匀、密度更高的液体,使孔或沟渠不至于坍塌;形成一个蛋糕或密封空洞壁,减少液体流失到周围的地层中,并使材料悬浮起来,不至于沉淀到孔或沟渠的底部。对于结构性地基,在放置钢筋后,泥浆被泵出或被混凝土在跋涉到孔或沟时逼出。对于地下环境截流墙,泥浆可能会无限期地留在地下,所以泥浆必须有足够的密度来防止墙体滑落或坍塌,有足够的粘度来保持粘土的悬浮,并且粘度足够低,以便能够将泥浆泵送到一定距离。泥浆的屈服应力必须高到足以悬浮沙粒,而且所有这些特性都不能因泥浆老化而改变。AMI生产和销售高质量的凹凸棒石粘土,用于配制这些泥浆。与其他材料相比,它们具有若干优点,包括在淡水中形成粘土浓度较低的泥浆,在盐水中形成稳定的泥浆,以及形成具有较高凝胶强度和较好悬浮能力的泥浆。

钻孔

即刻获取您的定制矿物解决方案

联系我们

Drilling

Drilling Technologies

Applications for gel quality attapulgite in “drilling” include oil & gas well drilling, foundation and footing construction drilling, and trenching for environmental containment. When drilling deep wells for oil and gas, the hole is kept continually filled with a fluid mud slurry. The mud suspends the cuttings, pushes them to the surface and there they are removed when the mud is recirculated through a de-sander or screen. The mud cools and lubricates the drill bit and also forms a filter cake which helps reduce fluid loss.

Unlike bentonite and other swelling mineral thickeners, the rheological properties of AMI’s Florigel® HY gel-quality attapulgite product is unaffected by high ionic concentration in the drilling environment. This has led many customers to simply call it “salt gel”. A clear advantage over other mineral thickeners is that attapulgite’s special properties allow the makeup water to be not just fresh water but the driller can also use the local environment’s brackish or brine water, water saturated with salt, or even contaminated with gypsum or cement…at any pH level. Another unique feature of attapulgite is that it is unaffected by over-shearing. Other rheology modifiers fade with prolonged or repeated shear, but Florigel HY performance will remain unchanged.

Some fracking fluids also have suspension and thixotropic thickening requirements. Fracking fluids containing boron mineral pose a difficult challenge with dispersion and suspension. Our Acti-Gel® 208 rheology modifier and stabilizer is very effective at keeping the boron dispersed and suspended throughout its application. In addition, Acti-Gel® 208 additive’s low dosage and very low grit content makes it far less abrasive on mixing and pumping equipment than other mineral products.

Florigel® HY attapulgite product meets API specification 13A/ISO 13500.

Drilling Cement

Acti-Gel® 208 additive is well proven in a myriad of cement-based applications for improving pumpability and workability while increasing density, chloride impermeability and strength of the cured cement composite.  In drilling cement, these improvements are likewise valuable where pumping long distances without segregation and a stronger, more resistant barrier in the bore hole are needed.

Foundation Drilling and Trenching Using the Clay Slurry Method

Drilling or trenching is often necessary in construction of reinforced concrete foundations for bridges, various tower applications, and cut-off walls. The slurry method is frequently used in sandy soils with high water tables. As the hole or trench is opened, it is kept filled with clay slurry. Its function is to keep the hole or trench from collapsing by providing a more stable, uniform and higher density fluid in the cavity, than the surrounding groundwater; form a cake or seal the cavity walls, reducing fluid loss into the surrounding formation, and to suspend materials so they do not settle to the bottom of the hole or trench. For structural foundations, after the reinforcement is placed, the slurry is either pumped or forced out by the concrete as it is tremied into the hole or trench. For in-ground environmental cut-off walls the slurry may be left in the ground indefinitely so the slurry must have sufficient density to prevent the walls from sloughing or collapsing, sufficient viscosity to keep the clay in suspension and a viscosity low enough to enable pumping of the slurry over some distances. Yield stress of the slurry must be high enough to suspend sand particles and all of these characteristics must not change on aging of the slurry. AMI produces and markets high quality attapulgite clays used to formulate these slurries. They offer several benefits compared to other materials, including formation of slurries in fresh water with a lower clay concentration, formation of stable slurries in salt water and formation of slurries with higher gel strength and better suspending ability.

drilling a hole in concrete

GET STARTED ON YOUR CUSTOM MINERAL SOLUTION TODAY

Contact Us